vegan chocolate chip almond scones

Hello!

DSC_2714

As you may have guessed from the name of this blog, I’m a tea-drinking kind of gal. You know what goes perfectly with afternoon (or morning) tea? Scones.

I set out on a mission last week to make a butter-less scone. And to my surprise, I found that coconut oil did the trick!

DSC_2719

Like butter, though, the coconut oil needs to be cold. I put some of it in the fridge for a few hours to let the oil really solidify, and I cut it in using a handy-dandy pastry cutter I got from target for 88 cents! (Side note: during my morning pinterest-browsing session class this morning I came across this mark down schedule at target. Genius!) DSC_2723

I think you could probably use more coconut oil than I did, but I was trying to healthify these a bit. You could also sub out the whole wheat flour for all-purpose or pastry. Whatever suits your fancy! DSC_2724

Baked at 375 for about 15 minutes, with a tiny bit of melted chocolate drizzled on top…

DSC_2790

Or a lot of chocolate.

DSC_2803Enjoy!
Vegan Chocolate Chip Almond Scones

Ingredients

1 c all-purpose flour

1/2 c whole wheat flour

1/4 c sucanut (See note below)

2 T baking powder

1/2 t salt

1/3 c cold, solid coconut oil

3/4 c soy or other nondairy creamer

1/3 – 1/2 c chocolate chips

1/4 c sliced or slivered almonds

Note: If you don’t plan on frosting the scones, I recommend adding additional sucanat/other sweetener. I would start by adding an additional 2 T of sucanut, and taste the batter *the perks of eggless baking* to make sure it’s sufficiently sweet. Keep in mind you’ll be adding chocolate chips, though!

In a large bowl, sift together the flours, sugar, baking powder, and salt.

Cut in the cold, solid coconut oil with a pastry blender or using your fingers until the mixture resembles coarse sand. Add the creamer and mix with your hands until the dough comes together.

On a lightly floured surface, shape the dough into a 12-inch circle and cut into 8 triangles. Bake for about 15 minutes, or until the edges just start to turn golden.

Allow scones to cool completely before drizzling on chocolate. For chocolate frosting, melt an additional 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and a teaspoon of coconut oil in a bowl. (Alternatively, omit the oil and just melt the chocolate chips. Without the oil the frosting will be a bit thicker though.)  Pour this into a plastic bag, cut off the tip, and drizzle on.

17 thoughts on “vegan chocolate chip almond scones

  1. I’m going to have to give these a try. My husband is convinced he doesn’t like scones, he says they are dry, so I don’t make them often but recently he has eaten a couple and thought they were good. Time to swoop in a dazzle him with an amazing recipe. How could one go wrong with chocolate?! I’ll just have to keep the coconut a secret since he thinks he doesn’t like that too. :)

      • I know! He just thinks he doesn’t like coconut. His issue is more the texture problem. I use coconut pruducts often in my cooking and baking and he always likes it. Trust me if I am making these they will be vegan so I can eat them too!

  2. Oh my word, this looks amazing! Just a little Q: what do you mean by cutting into the cold coconut oil… i’m a little confused. (I’ve never worked with coconut oil, is it a different texture than vegetable oil?)
    -JulieC

    • hi abbey,
      i think cocount sugar would probably work fine! i’ve never used it before but you can substitute whatever sugar you have on hand. thanks for stopping by!
      -sheila

Leave a Reply

