three bean chili

It feels like cheating to call this a recipe.

DSC_1472_edited-1

It seems like everyone and their mom is into slow cookers lately. I happened to find one just sitting in my parents’ garage recently and thought I’d give it a whirl…

DSC_1377_edited-1

Guys, it really is as easy as they say. Chop some veggies and grab some beans of your choosing.

DSC_1386_edited-1

Into my slow cooker went diced onion, celery, red bell pepper, fire roasted corn, kidney beans, pinto beans, and black beans.

I also added:

DSC_1387

These were on sale at Sprouts for $.39! I obviously couldn’t resist the urge and bought 8 cans. I have a serious food hoarding problem.

Lastly, I filled the pot with vegetable broth, and added salt, pepper, garlic powder and chili powder and gave it a good stir.

DSC_1389_edited-1

I turned it to low in the morning, went to school/work/the gym for the day, and about 8 hours later, the vegetables had softened just perfectly. I’ll admit, I was hoping to come home to an aromatic Mexican kitchen smelling of spicy tomatoey stew, but the kitchen smelled like Clorox as usual. In addition to food hoarding, I also apparently have a compulsive need to disinfect my kitchen counters on the regular. It can’t hurt to breathe in those fumes all the time, can it???

When I checked on it towards the end, I found the soup a tad watery. So I did the old cornstarch trick. In a small bowl, I mixed about a teaspoon of cornstarch with a ladle of broth from the slow cooker. I whisked it well until the corn starch dissolved, and then added this to the slow cooker. The soup will thicken up and lose that runny consistency.

DSC_1469_edited-1

Topped with crushed tortilla chips and nutritional yeast. A perfect hearty, warm meal on a chilly Tucson evening.

Easy Three Bean Chili

Ingredients

1 white onion, diced

2 stalks of celery, sliced

1.5 red bell pepper, cut into chunky pieces

1/2 c fire roasted corn

1 can organic kidney beans

1 can organic pinto beans

1 can organic black beans

1 can stewed or fire roasted tomatoes

Vegetable broth

Seasonings: salt, pepper, garlic powder, chili powder

Corn Starch

Throw all ingredients except for corn starch into the slow cooker. Turn to low, and leave on for 8-10 hours.

If soup is too watery after cooking, mix 1 tsp cornstarch in a separate bowl with a ladle of warm broth from the slow cooker. Whisk until starch dissolves. Pour this into the slow cooker and stir well.

7 thoughts on “three bean chili

Leave a Reply

