thai coconut curry

DSC_1698_edited-1

I know what you’re thinking: does this girl eat anything other than coconut and peanut butter?

Nope! Not lately. It’s getting a little ridiculous.

This has been a pretty hectic week with a trial and various other school things. I’ve been a grumpy, sleep-deprived mess for the past few days. I should probably be fueling up with salads and other healthy, nourishing things. Instead, my instinct when I come home starving is to eat pancakes or… worse, boxed mac and cheese. Annie’s makes a rennet-free version that hits the spot, and lately its become somewhat of an addiction. Sorry Mom.

DSC_1687_edited-1

Anyway, I made this coconut curry last week and it lasted me a good 4-5 days. The sauce? Mmmm. Good enough to drink. The stars of the show:

DSC_1573

Pretty simple, right? In a pot, warm the coconut milk (I recommend full fat) and about 1/4 to 1/2 of a jar of red curry paste, depending on how much spice you can handle. Whisk in peanut butter, apple cider vinegar, water, salt, and a little sugar and let it simmer.

DSC_1584_edited-4

Seriously, try to hold back from drinking this sauce. I used chunky peanut butter, which is why there are some brown specs in there. I didn’t mind the crunch of the peanuts, but I’d use creamy peanut butter next time.

Meanwhile, pan fry some drained and sliced tofu until brown and crispy on each side.

DSC_1566_edited-2

In a separate pot, I steamed carrots and potatoes and then added this to the sauce. You could maybe even just throw the raw veggies into the simmering coconut sauce until they soften. But I was impatient. And hungry.

DSC_1687_edited-1

Served atop soba noodles (my new favorite noodles ever), sprinkled with extra cayenne pepper on top. Indulgent but healthy. My kind of food.

Thai Coconut Curry

Ingredients

1 can coconut milk (preferably full-fat)

1/4 – 1/2 jar red curry paste, depending on spice level

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/4 cup sucanat or organic cane sugar

2 T apple cider vinegar

1/2 c water

Salt to taste

2 potatoes, peeled and chopped

3 large carrots, peeled and sliced

Put all ingredients except for vegetables into a pot and bring to a slow boil, whisking continuously. Let the mixture simmer for 3-5 minutes over low heat. At this point, you can remove the pot from the burner so it doesn’t scorch.

In a separate pan, pan fry the drained and sliced tofu until it’s brown on each side.

Steam the sliced carrots and potatoes in a pot until soft. Add tofu and vegetables to the coconut curry and mix well. If you’re not ravenous, let it sit in the fridge for a few hours before serving so that the vegetables and tofu can soak up the flavor.

Serve with rice or noodles.

8 thoughts on “thai coconut curry

  1. I could definitely live off of coconut and peanut butter as well! Two of my favorite things! And I love the simplicity of your coconut curry sauce, I’ve got to give it a try :)

  2. Sheila, thanks for the recipe and your lovely blog! I LOVE thai food especially red & massaman curries. Can’t wait to use the red curry paste that’s been sitting in my pantry for some time now. :)

    • hey pooja! i’m a huge thai food fan myself :) let me know if you try the recipe- i hope it turns out well! i also couldn’t help but notice all your foodie fb statuses lately… mad props to you for making biriyani and dosa. i haven’t attempted to tackle indian food yet… it’s intimidating!

Leave a Reply

