vegan fried chik’n

Alright. Have you had your fill of quinoa salad and spinach juice? Because you’re gonna want to get your stretchy pants on for this one.

DSC_1999

Sigh. Some days you just need a little fried food in your life. Join me in eating your feelings today, won’t you?

DSC_2004

It’s that point in the semester when all those readings I said I’d do later have finally caught up with me. All those job postings I said I’d apply to at some point, the meetings I said I’d set up, the presentations I knew I’d have to give… all happening this week.

But all I really want to do is be outside and enjoy this beautiful spring weather. Instead, I’ve been cooped up indoors all weekend (at juvi, actually). And boy do I have some interesting stories for another post.

I know I know. You want to hear me complain some more. But let’s move on and talk about fried chicken.

I used these Quorn chik’n cutlets, but I think any other type of chicken substitute would probably work fine as well. Safeway was practically giving these away for free so I bought a few boxes crate of them. While they were perfect for this recipe, I really don’t recommend them if you plan to eat them plain as chicken patties or as a veggie burger substitute. They’re not seasoned or spiced at all.

DSC_1974

This was actually my first adventure in deep-frying. Turns out it’s not all that complicated…

I thawed the “chicken” and cut it into strips. Next, I made a simple mustard-based batter and a flour mixture for breading.

DSC_1988

Then comes the fun part…. Dunk strips in the wet batter, dredge through the dry mixture, and drop into hot oil.

PicMonkey Collage

Comfort food anyone? Yeshplease.

These kept well in the fridge for a few days and can be reheated in the toaster oven on 300* for 5-6 minutes.

I ate the leftovers on an open-faced sandwich with some veganaise and ketchup. Twas dee-licious.

DSC_2100

Since I knew I’d be showing this to my invisible blog friends, I felt like I needed to pair it with something a little healthier. Like cauliflower mashed fauxtatoes.

I first learned of the concept from my fellow blogger friend Tulika and immediately became obsessed with the idea. I won’t mislead you- it does not taste like mashed potatoes. But I’m not ordinarily a huge fan of cauliflower and this recipe is a great way to repurpose it and make it taste like something familiar and comforting.

Two steps: first steam some cauliflower florets.

DSC_2017

Then, once softened, drain the florets and dump them into a blender or food processor with some nutritional yeast, unflavored soy/almond milk, red pepper, salt, and a tad bit of butter/Earth Balance. I kind of eye-balled the measurements on these ingredients, so I don’t have exact quantities.

But as you can see, I tend to be generous when it comes to nutritional yeast.

DSC_2019_edited-1

Blend to your desired consistency.

Nomnomnommmm

DSC_2036

But seriously, you’re going to need some loose fitting pants..

Fried Chik’n

Ingredients:

2 boxes of Quorn chicken, or other chicken substitute

2 cups all-purpose flour

5 T nutritional yeast

1.5 t onion powder

1.5 t garlic powder

1.5 t cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon salt

5 T mustard

1/2 c water

2 T baking powder

1 1/2 cups vegetable oil

First heat oil to medium-high heat in a thick pan suitable for frying.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, combine the all-purpose flour, nutritional yeast, salt, onion powder, cayenne, and garlic powder.

In a separate bowl, whisk the mustard and 1/2 cup water.

Add 1/3 cup of the dry mixture to the wet mixture and whisk well to get rid of any clumps.

Add the baking powder to the dry mixture and combine.

Dip pieces of chicken into the wet batter, then dredge in the flour mixture. Drop the chicken into the hot oil and fry until golden brown.

Serve with ketchup, honey mustard sauce, sweet chili sauce, or any other dipping sauce.

Fried chicken was very loosely adapted from this recipe

4 thoughts on “vegan fried chik’n

Leave a Reply

