kale, black bean and sweet potato tortilla casserole

It’s April! Finals are less than one month away! Graduation is 36 days away! And the bar exam- 4 months away. Oy. There are some happy/non-law-school-related things I’m counting down to as well… but… I’m going to wait to spill the beans until I get the go-ahead from a certain someone. Eek. !!!!!!!

DSC_2698

I’m not quite sure what’s going to happen with the blog once I start studying for the bar. I’m trying to coax my mom into taking over temporarily. She cooks a lot better than I do, and honestly she’s the brains behind this website anyway!

DSC_2709

Annnyway, this recipe is ridiculously easy. And yummy. I’ve been trying to reduce the amount of soy in my diet, so I’m experimenting with different soy-free recipes. I’m also trying not to go overboard on beans as a protein source, because frankly that’s not going to be pretty for anyone…

For this tortilla “casserole” simply saute some veggies: I did onion, kale, and corn. I also roasted some sweet potato in the oven while this was cooking on the stove.

DSC_2675

In a baking dish, lay down some whole wheat tortillas, and top with the veggie mixture and roasted sweet potatoes. Pour on a little enchilada sauce and daiya cheese, and relayer again in the same order.

DSC_2685

It’s probably not necessary to roast the sweet potato separately, but I prefer them a little crispy, rather than soft/mushy. I had a ton of sweet potato left over, so I ate it on the side as well, sprinkled with some salt + cumin. Perfecto.

DSC_2710

Baked at 350 for 15 minutes- enough time for the tortillas to soften, the daiya to melt, and your apartment to smell like a Mexican cantina. Top with guacamole, salsa, sour cream, hot sauce- or eat it plain, as I did! It was perfect as is.

DSC_2696

Enjoy!

Kale, Black Bean and Sweet Potato Tortilla Casserole

Ingredients

1 sweet potato

1 bunch of organic kale, finely chopped and ribs removed

1 onion, diced

1 can of organic black beans, drained and rinsed

1/2-3/4 c organic corn, frozen or fresh

Whole wheat tortillas

Daiya or regular cheese

Enchilada sauce (I used Frontera brand)

Spices: cumin, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, salt

First wash, peel, and dice your sweet potato. Toss with a little olive oil, salt, pepper, and cumin. Spread onto a baking sheet and roast at 400 for 35-40 minutes. Watch carefully around 30 minutes to make sure they don’t burn.

Meanwhile, saute your diced onions for about 10 minutes until they soften and brown. Then add your chopped kale and corn. Cover the pot with a lid and let it cook for a few minutes so that the kale leaves wilt. Season with salt, cayenne pepper, and cumin.

Add the roasted sweet potatoes and black beans to the pot and stir to combine. Add additional salt and spices as necessary.

Grease a baking dish with pam or a little oil, then lay down tortillas, and top with the veggie mixture. Add cheese and pour on as much enchilada sauce as you desire (reserving enough for later though).  Add another layer of tortillas, veggies, sauce, and cheese. Bake covered for 15 minutes at 350*.

14 thoughts on “kale, black bean and sweet potato tortilla casserole

  1. I would be delighted to help you with your blog for a couple of months while you study for the bar. I am not so sure if I could take good pictures like you. Anyways…this recipe looks very inviting. I will try it with some more veggies, like red pepper,zucchini and artichokes.

  2. Yumm! Looks good. Did you think about using chard at all?

    I love the use of sweet potatoes in this. I can’t wait to try this hopefully one day!!

  3. Pingback: Kale-jerk tofu enchilladas | A Happy Veggie Foodie

  4. totally making this tonight worked so perfect beacuse its all things i need to use right now! im gonna do mine a side of baked corn bread just sounds so good together

Leave a Reply

